Chasing The Light: Why I Take Pictures — Part 1

Michael Ken
4 min readNov 22, 2023

Moments come and go. But some moments hold more weight than others, shaping important parts of who we are. For me, taking pictures is a practice that allows me to better observe myself, others, and the world around me. Recently, I sat down to think about the moments that lead me to photography and how I became obsessed with chasing the light.

Life has a way of circling back to its beginning. As an adult, I’m fascinated by how many of my interests had roots in my early childhood. Photography is one of those seeds that was planted long ago.

I’ve never identified my father as a photographer. But I now realize he was exactly that. He had all the equipment, including a Vivitar 35mm film camera with several interchangeable lenses. More important than the gear, he had a passion for taking pictures.

As a small child, his equipment fascinated me. I remember how he let me hold the camera and take pictures. Often, he would task me with carrying his heavy camera bag, like a golf caddy who knew nothing about golf. Still, there was something about the clicking buttons and smooth, twisting controls on the lenses. Even as a child, the camera felt special; engineered like one of my father’s many collectible firearms.

The weight and action told me this was a powerful tool.

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.