Into The Woods Journal

Year 2024 — Week Nine

Michael Ken
27 min readMar 4, 2024
Vine on Pine Tree in Sims, North Carolina

My personal journal about living in the woods of North Carolina.

February 26

This morning, coffee happened while sitting on the couch, which now faced the south windows looking out at the pasture. A small herd of deer feeding in the area completed our view. Once the caffeine kicked in, my wife got ready for work while I edited more photos in Lightroom. After she left, I readied for a morning walk through the woods.
The sunrise came in several horizontal streaks of varying color. Near the horizon, just above the tree line, sat a thin, bright pink band. Above this was a larger line of purplish color, followed by another pink stripe, opening up into wider swaths of magenta, orange, and finally yellow. The clouds reflected the light, casting a soft glow onto the forest and surrounding farmlands.
During the trek north toward the creek, I spotted several disturbances in the pine needles coving the forest floor, likely made by deer and squirrels sniffing out mushrooms and stray corn kernels. I heard a small downy woodpecker tapping on a tall budding tree. Under the tree sat wild daffodils growing, their bright yellow petals calling out from the drab surrounding foliage. Each day, the woods are coming more to life. Last week, this place looked desolate and barren. Now, a light green tint was taking over the forest…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.