Into The Woods Journal

Year 2024 — Week Sixteen

Michael Ken
31 min readApr 23, 2024
Cardinal in Sims, North Carolina

April 15

Three Pillars

The crew was back together, and we both slept better than we had in a few nights. My wife and I drank coffee on the couch, ready for the new day. I had to work, but she was off, trying to relax before her trip tomorrow morning to Durham for the week. After coffee, we trimmed Bodhi’s and Koda’s nails. Both dogs were in a cooperative mood, swayed by the tasty cat treats we had in the cupboard.
My wife moved to the back porch, sitting on the hammock, studying, while I took a shower and got ready for work. Monday was here. Before work began, I went outside to check on my wife. She received the scores from last week’s testing. She had excellent results that showed she was on track for her end-of-year testing and national certification exam. Great news.
It was cold this morning, but the temperature was supposed to get up to 88 degrees! It’s not your time, yet, summer. While we were outside, two fighter jets approached and then flew over our house at low altitude. One jet rotated on its axis, rolling left and then right. Fighter planes did not frequent the area, but today they were out practicing maneuvers. It was pretty damned cool.
My wife left for an appointment and was gone during my lunchtime. I gulped down some food, a bowl of instant ramen, and then grabbed my camera before…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.