Into The Woods Journal

Year 2024 — Week Fifteen

Michael Ken
27 min readApr 18, 2024
Reeds in Sims, North Carolina

April 8

Insignificant Other

My watched buzzed, waking me up from a deep sleep. When I stood up from bed, my muscles felt sore from working on the trails, the pain gripping my arms and back. I felt better after a cup of coffee and some ibuprofen, but it was one of those rare mornings when my wife and I were dragging. I had forgotten how thrilled we were last fall when we cut the grass for the last time before winter. The break since then had erased memories of the work the property demanded during spring and summer. Farm Fit was back.
After washing up, I was surprised to find my wife studying outside in the hammock. It was cold, but she wanted to fit in more outdoor time before going to work. I checked to see if she needed anything, watching the vapor from my breath float out into the cold air, and then went inside to grab another cup of coffee. We kept the morning slow, writing and studying as best as we could. My wife left early to get gas and then returned home to pick up cookies she forgot. She baked some treats for us yesterday, but she also made a batch to take to the office where she was working.
Of course, the big news today was this afternoon’s solar eclipse. Surprisingly, I wasn’t excited about the eclipse, despite my love for nature, including outer space. It was in the news everywhere…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.