Into The Woods Journal

Year 2024 — Week Eighteen

Michael Ken
28 min readMay 8, 2024
Whitetail Doe in Sims, North Carolina

April 29

Apples And Snakes

I woke up without an alarm at 4 AM and stayed in bed until my wife woke up about twenty minutes later. We reluctantly got out of bed, knowing the school and work week started up today. My wife whipped up a hot latte for me and a cappuccino for her. The dogs knew mama was leaving today and Koda seemed a little anxious, not wanting to eat his breakfast. Though they were just animals, they watched our every move and knew when my wife was leaving for an extended period. In a flash, she was gone.
I spent the morning writing at my desk and preparing for my workday. Then, about an hour before work started, I cut my hair, took a shower, and got dressed. I took a short walk into the woods, where we cleared a secret trailhead and checked the trail camera posted there. The apples all had bites taken out of them. Were the deer here? I pulled up the footage on the camera and watched two rabbits hop around and then stop to munch on the fresh fruit.
I reset the camera and then walked into the pine grove to check a second feeding area. The place was bare and all the food we set out was gone. The videos showed several deer had been through the area and eaten the food. We had some pregnant does on the property and they needed all the nutrition they could find. I arrived back at the…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.