Standing In The Rain

Michael Ken
6 min readNov 12, 2023

It was midday, but the thick cumulus clouds made noon look more like dusk, with its low light and muted colors. Work was busy, and I just wanted to get away from the computer. So, when lunchtime arrived, instead of heading toward the refrigerator, I slipped on my boots and headed out the front door and into the woods.

I arrived at a deer blind that is set up along a tree line bordering a large crop field. Last year, this field was full of tobacco; this year, endless rows of soybeans grow, enticing deer to enjoy an easy, nutritious snack. The deer often traverse this area, and there are trail cameras set up to track their movements. Today, however, I was not tracking wildlife or taking photographs. I just needed some time away from my computer, away from the task lists, meetings, and deadlines that were spilling over.

I unzipped the blind, entered, and sat down on a small chair. As I was closing the zipper, the wind gusted, releasing dozens of dead pine needles that hit the top of the blind, making soft, popping sounds. I moved the chair closer to the edge of the blind and adjusted the windows so I could see outside.

Closing my eyes, I slowed my breathing and listened to the wind rustle and stir. A few minutes lapsed, and the light pitter patter of raindrops began sounding, creating slow drips on the fabric of the blind. Looking up through the opening in…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.