The Thrill Of Denial

Fear Leads To Overcompensation

Michael Ken
2 min readJul 15, 2020

Denial is an expression of ignorance and fear.

I find it ironic that those Americans who most loudly profess to be realists, to have no fear of danger, and to treat freedom as the guarantor of their reckless behavior, are the least likely to accept the reality of our present situation.

The virus is real, but they try their hardest to rationalize it away.

If you wear a mask, then you’re scared; if you practice social distancing, then you’re a conformist, if you believe the virus is real, then you’re part of the “deep state”. These arguments are stage props used to bolster their fragile ideas.

I’m sorry the virus is here. I’m sorry you can’t tackle or shoot it. I’m sorry you are trained to apply a tourniquet in the middle of a gunfight, but that you find wearing a mask is too much of an inconvenience to save the life of another human being. I’m sorry that defeating this enemy requires the demanding skill sets of either being a doctor or having common sense. I’m sorry you’re disappointed with this situation, and I’m sorry you’ve gone into hiding inside of your own head.

After two-hundred thousand years of learning, we can observe phenomena a billion light years away, but some of us still can’t see what…

--

--

Michael Ken

My journal about life in the woods. Visit intothewoods.blog to see my complete journal, photographs, and articles.